character: hate them | don’t really care | like them | LOVE them | THEY ARE MY PRECIOUS

I mean his neurodivergence and asexuality are relatable to me, and his flaws are very interesting to think about (and mock), which makes him easily one of my favorite fictional characters. But, he’s also a completely terrible person. Just, totally unhealthy to be around even as a teenager.

This leaves me rather conflicted.

ship with: I tend to think of him as an aromantic asexual, and there is the aforementioned being-terribleness; that said, tomarry is a strong guilty pleasure of mine. Don’t look at me.

(Though, I am more partial to stories about familial affection than anything else. But, when you’re knee-deep in romance novels you take what you can get.)

favorite friendship: I once stumbled upon an alternate universe story where Tom Riddle was friends with Hagrid; this prompted a fervent discussion with a good friend of mine about how in that universe, Tom could take Rubeus down to the Chamber and they could train the basilisk together, and perhaps give it accommodations more suited to a reptile. Also, Hagrid would not be getting expelled in this scenario.

general opinions: Riddle was nonbinary as hell and could have achieved great heights and happiness if he had the drive and resources available to face his emotional problems. Instead, he had Wizarding Britain and, uh, himself.

Leave a comment